Course: SOC 100 (1708): Culture and Society | Spring 2020 | Prof. Alapo

Reflection 1

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Author

Ansun Tran
      Participant

Who am I in society? I am just a normal resident in society. Someone part of the capitalist chain that is just trying to survive. I would think that I have a low impact on society and that my actions do not greatly affect society. However, I also think that even a small action in society may change it for better or for worse. My role in society is just a resident and also an employee of a local ice cream vendor in a big market. I am also a student at BMCC, so I am actually part of multiple societies. My function is just to contribute and do as much good as I can. For example, I used to take the train at a very busy train station where there is no elevator. A lot of times, people will have strollers or carts and cannot carry it down themselves. Often, I will offer to carry it down for them and sometimes they will refuse. This action, although little, may have impacted society in a big way without me knowing it. My function in society is not large at the moment however I do what I can to contribute. When I’m working, I try to give great customer service and put a smile on peoples faces. My function in the market is just a minimum wage worker at a little stall in a small part of the market however my contributions may have affected the market whether I know it or not. Despite all of this, I am still not quite sure who I am in society and what my role or function is. It requires more thought and as someone who lives life day by day, I have never really thought about who I am in society. I just try to get through the day and lay back and relax. However, I have thought about who I want to become in society. I want to become an influential person and help societies flourish. My role would not be too big however when I choose to do so I would make great changes. Overall, I am Ansun. I am a 19 year old s